A man looks at a syringe

Research divisions


Our research divisions provide an exceptional environment where our staff and students can immerse themselves in their respective research themes, fostering innovation and pushing the boundaries of scientific discovery. 

Division of Genome Sciences and Cancer

At the Genome Sciences and Cancer Division (GSC), we offer a dynamic research and training environment that seamlessly integrates cutting-edge genomic, molecular, biochemical, and computational approaches with genetic models. By connecting genotype with phenotype, our division strives to unravel disease pathologies, develop innovative treatments, and foster a deeper understanding of the intricate interplay between genes and health.

Division of Immunology and Infectious Diseases

The Division of Immunology and Infectious Diseases (IID) at JCSMR makes fundamental discoveries about the immune system and our ability to respond to pathogens. We aim to use this research to improve the health of Australians and people around the world. We provide high quality training for research students and conduct a range of advanced undergraduate courses.

Division of Neuroscience (Eccles Institute of Neuroscience)

The Eccles Institute of Neuroscience (EIN) shines as a beacon of collaboration and innovation within JCSMR. Our state-of-the-art facilities and collaborative environment bring together visionary neuroscientists, driving groundbreaking discoveries and deepening our understanding of the intricate workings of the brain.