Dr Abhimanu Pandey wins the Dewar-Milne Prize for outstanding thesis in Immunology for 2022

Dr Abhimanu Pandey Dr Abhimanu Pandey JCSMR
7 March 2024

Dr Abhimanu Pandey from the John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR) was awarded the Dewar-Milne Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in the field of Immunology in 2022.

His thesis, supervised by Professor Si Ming Man, was about the role of cytosolic DNA sensors in colitis and intestinal cancer.

The award and prize money were awarded to Dr Pandey by JCSMR Director, Professor Elizabeth Gardiner, at an event held on 7 March at the School.

Dr Pandey is currently a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Man Group, studying the role of innate immunity in infection and cancer.

His thesis findings drew wider attention from the academia and public with the publication of his findings in the Science Advances journal. Dr Pandey, as the lead author, shows that the protein known as Ku70 in the immune system can be manipulated to help overcome bowel cancer.

His research will now help scientists to predict who will fare better or worse after being diagnosed with bowel cancer.

“I am deeply humbled by this award and recognition given by JCSMR. I am grateful to my supervisor Professor Man and fellow lab members for their continued support for my PhD,” added Dr Pandey.

Some highlights of the event.

Dr Abhimanu Pandey receiving the award from JCSMR Director Professor Elizabeth Gardiner (C). JCSMR Associate Director (HDR) Associate Professor Brendan McMorran (R) also in the picture. 

(L-R) Dr Adrian Cioanca (winner of the Frank Fenner Medal), Professor Russell Gruen (the Dean, ANU College of Health and Medicine), Professor Elizabeth Gardiner (JCSMR Director), and Dr Abhimanu Pandey.  

Photos: Kassapa Senarath | JCSMR Communications

Updated:  18 March 2024/Responsible Officer:  Director, JCSMR/Page Contact:  Web Manager