Skip navigation
The Australian National University

About us

Founded in 1948, the John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR), Australian National University, is Australia's national medical research institute. The School was conceptualized by Australia-born Baron Howard Florey, who won the Nobel Prize in 1945 for his contribution to create penicillin as a drug, while working at Oxford University.

We are named after Australia's wartime Prime Minister, John Curtin, who was very supportive of Florey's concept for an Australian-based, world-class, medical research School. JCSMR rapidly achieved international prominence and recognition.  We have had the distinction of three of our investigators receiving Nobel Prizes in Physiology or Medicine for work conducted here: Sir John Eccles in 1963 and Peter Doherty and Rolf Zinkernagel in 1996. A former Director, Professor Frank Fenner, was the Chairman of the Global Commission for the Certification of Smallpox Eradication.

We excel in ground-breaking, multidisciplinary translational medical research in fields including immunology, genomics, neuroscience, mental health, infectious diseases, obesity and metabolic disorders.


Updated: 1 August 2011/ Responsible Officer:  Director, JCSMR / Page Contact:  Web Manager