Associate Professor Di Yu

Group Leader - The Yu Group

Dr Di Yu came to Australia in 2003 to study Immunology and was awarded PhD in 2007. After a postdoctoral training at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Di was selected as Monash Fellow to establish his research group at Monash University in 2011. In 2017, he was appointed as Associate Professor by the Australian National University to lead the lab of T-cell Immune Mechanism, Monitoring and Modulation (TIM3).

Di has made several major contributions to T-cell immunobiology, in the field of follicular T cells. He has published in journals including Nature, Nature Immunology, Nature Medicine and Immunity, and is a recipient of the New Investigator Award from the Australasian Society for Immunology (ASI), and the International Research Award from the Australian Society for Medical Research (ASMR), the Excellence Award from the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and the Milstein Young Investigator Award from The International Cytokine and Interferon Society (ICIS). Di and his team are now investigating the molecular mechanisms whereby T cells regulate the competence and balance of immune responses, aiming to design new strategies for immunotherapies to treat inflammation, autoimmune disease, infection and cancer.

Selected publications

Leong YA, Chen Y, Ong HS, Wu D, Man K, Deleage C, Minnich M, Meckiff BJ, Wei Y, Hou Z, Zotos D, Fenix KA, Atnerkar A, Preston S, Chipman JG, Beilman GJ, Allison CC, Sun L, Wang P, Xu J, Toe JG, Lu HK, Tao Y, Palendira U, Dent AL, Landay AL, Pellegrini M, Comerford I, McColl SR, Schacker TW, Long HM, Estes JD, Busslinger M, Belz GT, Lewin SR, Kallies A*, Yu D*. (2016) CXCR5+ follicular cytotoxic T cells control viral infection in B cell follicles. Nature Immunology 17(10):1187-96

He J#, Zhang X#, Wei Y#, Sun X, Chen Y, Deng J, Jin Y, Gan Y, Hu X, Jia R, Xu C, Hou Z, Leong YA, Zhu L, Feng J, An Y, Jia Y, Li C, Liu X, Ye H, Ren L, Li R, Yao H, Li Y, Chen S, Zhang X, Su Y, Guo J, Shen N, Morand EF, Yu D* and Li Z* (2016). Low-dose interleukin-2 treatment selectively modulates CD4+ T cell subsets in patients with systemic lupus erythematosus. Nature Medicine 22(9): 991-3

Vinuesa CG*, Linterman MA*, Yu D*, MacLennan ICM (2016) Follicular Helper T Cells. Annual Review of Immunology 34:335-68

Yu D, Chen Y, Leong YA (2014) Navigating double negatives: new pathways for regulating T(FH) differentiation. Nature Immunology 15(7): 597-9

Yu D (2014) MicroRNAs in Tfh cells: mircomanaging inflammaging. Immunity 41(4): 509-511

He J#, Tsai LM#, Leong YA, Hu X, Ma CS, Chevalier N, Sun X, Vandenberg K, Rockman S, Ding Y, Zhu L, Wei W, Wang C, Karnowski A, Belz GT, Ghali JR, Cook MC, Riminton DS, Veillette A, Schwartzberg PL, Mackay F, Brink R, Tangye SG, Vinuesa CG, Mackay CR, Li Z*, Yu D*. (2013) Circulating precursor CCR7loPD-1hi CXCR5+ CD4+ T cells indicate follicular helper T cell activity and promote antibody responses upon antigen re-exposure. Immunity 39(4),770-781 

Yu D, Rao S, Tsai LM, Lee SK, He Y, Sutcliffe EL, Srivastava M, Linterman M, Zheng L, Simpson N, Ellyard JI, Parish IA, Ma C, Li QJ, Parish CR, Mackay CR*, Vinuesa CG* (2009) Transcriptional repressor Bcl-6 directs Tfh lineage commitment. Immunity 31(3), 457-68

Yu D, Tan AH, Hu X, Athanasopoulos V, Simpson N, Silva DG, Giles KM, Leedman PJ, Huttloff A, Lam KP, Goodnow C*, Vinuesa CG*. (2007) Roquin represses autoimmunity by limiting inducible T-cell co-stimulator messenger RNA. Nature 450, 299-303.