Chris Parish named ACT Australian of the Year Awards finalist

15 October 2015

Cancer researcher Professor Chris Parish from The John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR) has been named a finalist for the 2016 ACT Australian of the Year Awards.

Professor Parish is one of four finalists in the 2016 ACT Senior Australian of the Year category.

“I am honoured to be nominated for such a prestigious award and be in the company of such incredible people,” Professor Parish said.

The nomination comes after Professor Parish, 71, was named the 2014 ACT Citizen of the Year.

Over his 40 year career, Professor Parish has been a driving force behind significant advances in cancer and immunology research.

A world authority in his field, Professor Parish has made major contributions to the development of novel therapeutic anti-cancer agents, and to the understanding of auto immune disease and resistance to infections.

He is the past Director of The John Curtin School of Medical Research. His research findings underpin several Australian biotechnology companies and he holds 28 international patents.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO congratulated Professor Parish on this recognition.

“This is a wonderful achievement for Chris and great recognition of the great research he and his team have done and continue to do at the University,” Professor Young said.

The ACT finalists also include five ANU alumni, Former chief of the Army Lieutenant General  David Morrison AO (Australian of the Year ACT), ACT Human Rights Commisioner and the Discrimination Commissioner Dr Helen Watchirs (Australian of the Year ACT), former support worker for Karinya House for Mothers and Babies and a doctor at Calvary Hospital Dr Kate Eisenberg (Young Australian of the Year ACT), conductor, composer and performer Leonard Weiss (Young Australian of the Year ACT) and volunteer fundraiser David Richards (Australia’s Local Hero ACT).

The ACT finalists are among more than 120 great Australians being recognised as State and Territory finalists in the Australian of the Year Awards.

The award recipients will be announced on Monday 2 November at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

The national Australian of the Year Awards are announced ahead of Australia Day in 2016.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit