Academy honours JCSMR scientist

25 May 2015

The Australian Academy of Science has honoured scientists from The Australian National University (ANU) for their work and discoveries in the core of the earth, astronomy, rocket science and the human immune system.

Four ANU scientists - Professor Martin Asplund, Professor Christine Charles, Professor Malcolm Sambridge and Professor Carola Vinuesa - are among the 21 new Fellows elected to the Academy.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO congratulated the new Fellows and said the range of their research underlined the breadth of scientific research at ANU.

"I congratulate the four new Fellows, not only for their excellent careers, but for the leadership they have shown in their fields," Professor Young said.

"Their contribution to the research community exemplifies what makes ANU a world-class university."

The Australian Academy of Science champions excellence in Australian science, and currently has 503 Fellows and Corresponding Members from all natural sciences.

Professor Vinuesa from The John Curtin School of Medical Research was recognised for her discoveries into how our immune system produces high quality antibody responses to fight infections, while preventing the development of autoimmune diseases such as lupus.

"It's a huge honour, I feel very grateful to all those who have supported my work through the years and believed in what I do," she said.

Image: Stuart Hay, ANU

Professor Vinuesa talks about her research