Innate immune recognition of Mycobacterium tuberculosis

Associate Professor Antje Blumenthal; Head, Infection and Inflammation Group The University of Queensland Diamantina Institute Associate Professor Antje Blumenthal

Toll-like receptors (TLRs) are arguably the most studied and best understood pattern recognition receptors. Their contribution to the host response in mycobacterial infection is underpinned by findings in humans and experimental model systems. The seminar will discuss an unconventional member of the TLR family, its functions in host responses to mycobacterial infection, and distinct molecular mechanisms by which it shapes macrophage functions.

Associate Professor Antje Blumenthal’s research focuses on innate immune sensors, regulators of inflammation, and discovery of new therapeutic opportunities for challenging infectious diseases, with a specific emphasis on tuberculosis and sepsis. A microbiology graduate from Kiel University (Germany), she pursued her PhD research in Immunology at the Leibniz Research Center for Medicine and Biosciences (Germany). After postdoctoral work at Weill Cornell Medical College, New York (USA), she now heads the Infection and Inflammation Group at The University of Queensland Diamantina Institute. The Blumenthal lab employs in vivo and in vitro model systems, and fosters cross-disciplinary collaborations with immunologists, microbiologists, systems biologists, chemists, clinical research teams and industry partners. This research is supported by major funding from international and national agencies and has been recognised through prestigious awards, invited conference presentations and research seminars. Associate Professor Blumenthal holds editorial responsibilities at the Journal of Immunology, Infection and Immunity, and Frontiers in Immunology. She has provided leadership to the scientific community through various roles including as co-Chair for the 2017 ASI Annual Scientific Meeting, Chair of the UQ Animal Ethcs Committee, and Chair of the UQDI Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee.